I’m one month into my PhD, though only feel to have really begun in the last week or so. I’m hoping to blog about the experience as well as about my research (about which I’ll add some basic information later). Here’s a list of what I’ve done so far:

Admin

  • Registered! And have an ID card, student card, student railcard…
  • Attended Faculty induction
  • Found the Graduate Studies cluster and rooms in the maze that is the School of Languages, Linguistics and Cultures
  • Set up personal webpage holding page: http://personalpages.manchester.ac.uk/postgrad/anna.seabourne/
  • Started this blog (or rather repurposed it – I’ll still blog about teaching and learning issues)

Literature, current awareness

Grants/funding

Classes and workshops

Study Skills
  • Worked part way through the tutorial on Scrivener, I think it’s going to be an excellent alternative to Word (which I detest with a vengeance for writing!)
  • Have planned how to organise .pdfs and record my notes using Evernote and Mendeley

Research

  • Written initial notes on koryu and some sketchy notes on a few other areas

I was planning on writing some reflections on all the above this evening, but we’ve had a massive power cut, so they will have to remain in my head for now. I hope this blog can: be a place where anyone interested in what I’m doing can keep up to date with ‘progress so far’; provide a record of how the work and my development as a researcher changes over time; and serve as a repository for ‘first thoughts’ about my research.

